Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Resignation: SGF Clarifies Category of Appointees Affected by Buhari’s Order

0 428


Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Mr. Boss Mustapha, has clarified that the order of President Muhammadu Buhari asking federal political appointees interested in participating in the 2023 elections to resign, does not affect only Federal Executive Council (FEC) members.

A circular dated May 11, 2022, and titled MINISTERS, HEADS OF GOVERNMENT AGENCIES, AMBASSADORS AND OTHER APPOINTEES WITH POLITICAL AMBITIONS TO RESIGN, signed by the SGF, has cleared doubts over the category of appointees affected by the order, which the Minister of information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed told correspondents was handed down during the FEC meeting yesterday.

Mustapha said, “For the avoidance of doubt, this directive affects all Ministers, Heads and Members of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Agencies and Parastatals of Government, Ambassadors as well as other political appointees who desire to contest for elective offices.”

According to him, “Mr. President has observed and noted the expression of interest and intention by some members of the Federal Executive Council, Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Agencies, Parastatals of Government, Ambassadors and other Political Office holders to contest the upcoming Presidential, Gubernatorial, National and State Assemblies’ elections.


“Consequently, Mr. President has directed that the affected office holders aspiring to run for various offices in the 2023 General Elections, should tender their resignation on or before Monday, the 16th of May, 2022,” he added.

The SGF further stated that “for smooth running of the machinery of government and our foreign Missions, affected Ministers are to hand over to Ministers of State where they exist or to the Permanent Secretary, where there is no Minister of State. Ambassadors shall hand over to their Deputy Heads of Mission or the most Senior Foreign Service Officer in line with established practices.
“Similarly, Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Agencies and Parastatals are to hand over to the most senior Director/Officer as may be peculiar to the organisation, in line with the service wide Circular No. SGF 50/S. II/C.2/268 of 4th December, 2017.
“The contents of this circular and the incidental directives, takes effect immediately.

Those copied include, Chief of Staff to the President, Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, Office of the Vice-President, Honourable Ministers/Ministers of State, Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments/Directors-General/Chief Executive Officers of Parastatals, Agencies and Government-Owned Companies.

Also copied are Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, National Security Adviser, Chairman, Federal Civil Service Commission, Chairman, Federal Character Commission, Chairman, Independent National Electoral Commission, Chairman, Revenue Mobilization, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, Chairman, National Population Commission, Chairman, Code of Conduct Tribunal, Chairman, Code of Conduct Bureau, Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers/Senior Special Assistants and Service Chiefs/Inspector-General of Police.

Others are Governor, Central Bank of Nigeria, Chairman, Independent Corrupt Practices and other Related Offences Commission, Chairman, Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, Chairman, National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, Chairman, Federal Inland Revenue Service, Chairman, National Assembly Service Commission, Clerk of the National Assembly, Chief Registrar, Supreme Court of Nigeria, Secretary, National Judicial Council, Auditor-General for the Federation and Accountant-General of the Federation, Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments/Directors-General/Chief Executive Officers of Parastatals, Agencies and Government-Owned Companies.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.